Butterflies and Beginnings…

Happy New Year Beautiful People!!  I am wishing and hoping for health, happiness and prosperity for us all!!

So, this New Year has me thinking about beginnings.  I have seen lots of beginnings this year.  Not the least of which has been the change in my body, in image and in the physical reconstruction of my actual body.  I was thinking about the sacrifices we make to change ourselves.  After losing so much weight, I was obviously left with lots of loose skin and also perhaps lost a bit of the youthful plump that all of the extra adipose tissue gave me.  In other words I once was like a balloon blown up and deflated basically.

Do I regret the loss of this bit of youth fat had afforded me?  Well, no, not even a little bit.  Because what I gained in self-esteem and health far outweigh all of this.  The new me can run!  The new me will live longer and the new me can do anything!  I have been extremely lucky that with the intervention of an amazing surgeon in Paul Baguley, I could be brand new.  Through plastic surgery I could have the body I worked so hard to get.  I have been looking through the pictures I sent into the television company prior to the surgery.  I remember being so humiliated sending them, that I actually cleared my browser and email account of any trace of those messages with pictures attached.  I looked at them and thought; there could not be any possible way to come back to anything remotely normal looking.

20130528_130645   20141225_163942

Now in retrospect looking at my after pictures, particularly my thighs and stomach, the results are unbelievable.  I am not ashamed of those pictures anymore.  It is a bit like looking at a discarded cocoon now.  Although not perfect, I am very happy with the butterfly I have become no matter how oddly I fly now and then.

Breaking News!!!  Coming soon My first VLOG post where I will be reviewing some amazing new products.

11 responses to “Butterflies and Beginnings…

  1. what an inspiration. proud of you. happy new year

  2. Happy New Year to you lovely lady! You’ve had such a journey and it’s so impressive and inspirational. Glad you are writing about it too as I’m sure it’ll help a lot of other women out there who feel they don’t know where to begin with losing weight. It was great to meet you last year at Antonia’s workshops and look forward to seeing you soon – and watching your new VLOG! exciting! Wishing you lots of love and happiness in 2015! xx

  3. Wow! What a difference! It’s going to be a great year!

  4. Hi Melissa,

    I hope you don’t mind me sending you a message.

    I just read your amazing story on the Mail Online – I can’t believe you’ve not only lost 12 stone, but you’ve also had this amazing op to transform your skin!

    You look incredible, and after everything you’ve been through, I can imagine you feel like a new woman!

    I was just wondering if you’d ever considered sharing your story with a women’s magazine too?

    I think your story would inspire so many other women – and could be a celebration of your achievement!

    My name is Hadley and I’m a feature writer with a magazine called Real People – we’re a weekly women’s title read by mums and families across the UK.

    We only work on stories we feel passionately about, where we feel someone should have a voice in the national press.

    We’d love to work with you to write a sensitively written and understanding feature about your weight loss journey, and your skin surgery?

    We can offer a generous fee, and we always offer a full read back of the story before we go to press.

    If you’d like to get back in touch please do drop me a line back, I’ll be happy to answer any queries!

    Thanks for taking the time to read this message,

    Best Wishes,

    Hadley
    0207 339 4585
    hadley.middleton@hearst.co.uk

  5. ilona

    Well done, you are a star.

  6. Pingback: Size 32 mother undergoes transformation after 12 stone weight loss | ListenRadios BLOG

  7. Pingback: Frau nimmt 76 Kilo ab: “Mein Körper sah aus wie ein eingefallener Luftballon” | Nachrichten Heute Deutschland

  8. Nina Hinds

    Dear Melissa,

    I hope this finds you well.

    I read your story a couple of months ago in the Daily mail and finally I have got the courage to contact you for some advise.

    I had a gastric band s couple of years ago but that surgery unfortunately went very wrong. I had an emergency removal of the band but as a rest, have gained a tremendous amount if weight. I am interested in having a gastric wrap but need some honest insight into your journey in terms of complication minor or major that you might have had. With my gastric band, I was forever throwing up and the acid burned the back of my teeth. I lost a lot of weight mostly because everything came back! Do you have any such incidences? Are there any foods that are off limit for instance due to getting stuck?

    Please help me as I cannot continue living in my suffocating fat suit.

    Thanks and regards,

    Nina

    • Oh Nina, I really feel for you!! I have to say friends of mine had similar issues with the band which was one of the reasons why I went with the wrap. I can’t say a single negative thing about it. My experience has been 100% positive. To be honest my only side effect was weight loss. I had the surgery abroad and flew home on day five. I was pretty much back to normal activities the following week. Are you on Facebook? Feel free to add me so we can chat that way. I am happy to help in any way I can. xxx

      Mel

  9. Barth

    Hello,
    My Name is sabrina.
    I Speak a little Bit englisch,please help mi.
    Mi kg is 108.
    Im smoke not 2 Monats.I eat and eat
    I go Sport club but i m dick 😦
    I have 4 Kids

Leave a comment